Universalization of the Membership of the International Solar Alliance

July 31, 2020

1.The International Solar Alliance was launched jointly by the Hon'ble Prime Minister of India and the President of France during COP21 in Paris. It aims to contribute to the implementation of the Paris Climate Agreement through rapid and massive deployment of solar energy. As on 30 July 2020, 87 Countries have signed the Framework Agreement of the ISA and of these 67 have deposited their instruments of ratification.

2.In pursuance of the vision of the Hon'ble Prime Minister of India for achieving the universalization of the membership of the International Solar Alliance beyond the Tropics, the First General Assembly of the ISA, held on 3 October 2018, adopted the amendment of the Framework Agreement on the establishment of the International Solar Alliance, to expand the scope of Membership of the ISA to all Member States of the United Nations.

3.After the necessary ratifications/ approvals/ acceptances were obtained from the requisite number of ISA Member countries as mandated by the Framework Agreement of the ISA, the said amendment has entered into force on 15 July 2020. The coming into force of the amendment of the ISA Framework Agreement will now allow all the Member States of the United Nations to join the International Solar Alliance, including those beyond the Tropics.

4.The ISA aims to bring together countries to provide a collective response to the main common obstacles to the massive deployment of solar energy in terms of technology, finance and capacity. The objective of the ISA is to mobilize member countries, seek commitments from international organisations and mobilize private sector, to support rural

and decentralised applications, access to affordable finance, island and village solar mini grids, rooftop installations, and solar e-mobility technologies.

New Delhi July 31, 2020 Click here for Urdu version ... Click here for Bengali version . Click here for Gujarati version . Click here for Kannada version Click here for Malayalam version Click here for Odia version . Click here for Punjabi version Click here for Tamil version . Click here for Telugu version .

Click here for Assamese version